Where is your happiness?

ugghhhhh happiness…am I right??? WRONG!

lately, i’ve been spending a lot of time thinking, talking, reflecting on this topic that seems so…unreachable to many.

but, i am happy.

truly, happy.

“how?!” 

honestly, it’s because i spent a lot of time being truly UNHAPPY.   i got dumped, i chose to spend more time crying about it than necessary (honestly, i ran out of tears sometimes).  i stayed in a city (far, far away from the one i am from) that i moved to for that relationship.  i spent time dwelling (and dwelling on the fact that i was dwelling).  i thought i would never find anyone, ever again (this just isn’t true, no matter how true it feels).

but…you know what was waiting for me outside my new, very empty, bedroom?

HAPPINESS

i started choosing to spend my time alone, doing things i liked.  things i forgot about doing when i started doing things just because my partner wanted to do them.  things that made me forget about being sad…things that wouldn’t let me be sad unless i wanted to cry in public (which happens anyway).

and you know what i found?

I AM PRETTY FREAKING COOL.  (this is a true fact that needs no ones approval except my own)

we spend so much time trying to make connections, doing what we think we are supposed to be doing. trying to find success in work or relationships or just being accepted by others, in general, that we don’t spend any time trying to accept ourselves.

i have spent the last 9 months on the most incredible journey of living my own truth.  i have spent more time with myself in the last 9 months than i have in my almost 27 years on this earth.  and sadly, i haven’t met many people who do the same.

spend time with yourselves, people.

get a hobby.  learn something new.  take some pictures.  buy a plant.  run.  walk.  pick your nose in the comfort of knowing that no one is watching.  do something scary.  sit in your house and make a list of all the things you love about yourself.  but please, for the love of who/whatever you believe in, join me in happiness!

“And if I asked you to name all the things you love, how long would it take for you to name yourself?”

Leave a Reply

